Question: Advice on GRS classes or private instruction?

Hi everybody

i have a bit of a question for anybody willing to answer.

I’m striving every day to continue to improve and eventually make FEGA master engraver. I am quite proud of what i have been able to accomplish so far but I’m lacking or need some help with couple of techniques that are needed for me to reach this goal. Bulino is one technique I am completely lacking any experience at all, and my Shading is something that could use a bit help. Not to mention I have no gunsmithing experience whatsoever. I’m looking at GRS classes To help me improve. Specifically the 1911 engraving and bulino classes offered by them. however, I dont use the GRS system in my work, im a Lindsay guy. From what I’ve heard about GRS they insist You use there system while taking classes there. I don’t want to have to use a system I’m not used while learning new technique. with that in mind, do you think I should be looking for help elsewhere? do you think I should be looking at private instruction in my case?

thanks for your advice everyone!

JB

AllenClapp

Elite Cafe Member
There is nothing like being there with an instructor to get little nuances that you can't get from videos. Several schools have Lindsey equipment available, such as Ray Cover's school and the Texas Engraving School. If you haven't tried bulino at all, you may want to start with excellent videos from Christian DeCamillis (available on Tira Mitchell's engraver.com website) and Jake Newell (available on the grs.com website). Jake teaches a bulino course at GRS. Although GRS does not have the Lindsey equipment, they do have palm control handpieces at each table, so it probably wouldn't be all that big a deal to use their equipment for a class.

Deb Williams