Help, please: ARTISAN vs. CLASSIC Airgraver purchase recommendation

highveldt

Elite Cafe Member
I have been learning engraving using chasing hammer and chisels as well as push hand graver for about 2 years. I am self-taught using books and videos as guides. Engraving is to be a hobby with me and as I am 70 years old I do not have a lot of years remaining to engrave. My engraving is and will be on firearms and other objects of steel.

Will some of you who use Lindsay Airgravers be so kind as to give me a recommendation to whether it is appropriate for me to purchase a Classic or a Artisan Airgraver.

Kindest Regards;

Steve

mrthe

the two tools are great tools but buy a classic have more regulation options is a little more expensive but is more complete

diandwill

Elite Cafe Member
Just curious as to why you would ask that on this forum? There is one that is devoted to the Lindsay products, and they would delete the post if you asked about or recommended the GRS products!

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
There are plenty of Cafe members who use Lindsay products, and there's certainly nothing wrong with asking the question here.

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
As Sam said, this forum is vendor neutral so it's a good place to ask about anything.
The Lindsay forums, being sponsored by Steve, tend to be Lindsay specific as you'd expect.

That being said, I'll pass along the standard advice from the Lindsay forum:
The difference between the Classic and the Artisian is the adjustable stroke on the Classic. That makes it like a car with multiple gears vs. one that has just a single gear. You can do pretty much anything with the Artisian that you can with the Classic but it can be a lot harder.

highveldt

Elite Cafe Member
Thanks KCSteve, Sam, et al;

Your advice is well appreciated, especially the analogy to the automobile transmission.