Beginner, new to Engravers Cafe, having trouble sharpening graver

Marcie Rae

Hi, delighted to be on the Engraver's Cafe. I'm a jeweler, initially learning to use a flat graver for bright cutting when setting stones. I inherited a GRS Power Hone with the Dual Angle sharpening fixture, plus other GRS equipment.

Despite all efforts, when I bright cut with a 42 flat GRS graver, sharpened to 50 degrees on the face and 10 degrees on the belly, my bright cut ends up with tiny lines, up and down along the bright cut surface. This isn't a great picture, but i think it shows my problem. When I use the wheels on the Power Hone (260, 600, then Ceramic with diamond spray), it wobbles a tiny bit as the wheels rotate. But, this problem is probably my inexperience. How do I fix it? Am I sharpening wrong, using the wrong angle (45 degrees) as I cut, cutting with the wrong pressure on the graver, cutting too shallow or too deep? I've tried varying all the above, with no success.

Thanks,
Marcie

Attachments

• Bright Cut.jpg
    Bright Cut.jpg
    526.6 KB · Views: 78

Chujybear

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I think that what you are referring to are chatter marks (I honestly can’t tell much from the photo). Chatter marks ( if that what it is ) will run perpendicular to your cut, think sleepers on a rail track.
I don’t know if I can properly describe how they come about, there are probably lots of ways, but as I see it, it comes from too heave of a pass on too tight a curve, or otherwise blighting in too deeply.. the tip digs in a bit too much, and then pops out, and you get a chatter effect.

If it is that your striations are running in the same direction as the line you are cutting, then the answer is easy. It is either you have moved on between the various grits too quickly and some of the toothe from the previous grit remains, or there is just some remainder of a bur on the edge of your tool.. you can strop it offf, or stab your tip into a piece of soft wood to knock off the bur