Question: Gold Coins for Inlays

eastslope

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I was just wondering if most of you buy gold sheet, or roll coins into your own sheets and wires? I am very new to this and have no inlay experience other than some copper and a peice of silver. Where do most of you buy gold coins, ebay or coin shops? Maple leafs, Krugerrands, American Eagles, how does one know what to purchase and for how much? Is it cost effective to purchase a cheap rolling mill and make your own sheet and wire? If this question shows my ignorance, it's because I am. If the question is too broad, then please let me know. Thanks.

Tira

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
eastslope, I am not an expert about this, but I think you need to buy pure 24kt. coins that do not have any materials mixed in with them such as Canadian Maple Leafs, American Buffalos and Chinese Pandas. Krugerrands do have 1oz of gold in them, but are an alloy which improves durability, but probably is not what you want for wire and sheet.

You will pay a high premium especially right now on coins because the demand for gold coins is very high. Premiums are determined by how marketable the gold is perceived to be in the marketplace. The best bet may be to purchase a 24kt. 1oz. bar that is not perfect. By that I mean that they come with the mint identification numbers, etc. stamped on them and then they are sealed in plastic with the same identifiers on the package. If a dealer has one that has an open package he can't sell it for as much as if it were in great condition - kind of a "scratch and dent" sale, if you will. Mind you, all the dealers are different and the premium is again the perceived value above the gold. Right now the market is up $21.10/oz gold to $917.10. If you are going to roll it out anyway you probably don't need it to be in the sealed package.