Gold/Silver barrel bands

George F.

I'm new here and have very little experience engraving.I'm also a long rifle builder, but have been paying someone to do my engraving, after my first engraving attempt on my first gun I instantly saw my engraving was somewhat primitive, compared to what I had someone do for me on my other projects. I had someone recently give me some pointers, which resparked my interest in trying to learn. I do feel I can. I have some engraving tools. I have a square graver and a 1oz. 2oz. and a 4oz. hammers, as well as a few other gravers, but don't know what they are.Can some one give me a list of gravers that I would need to do these barrel bands. I've been coached somewhat from someone from another forum, who I respect his work and helpfullnes a great deal. He recommended a line graver, but not the size. The bands that I want to do will be about .080" usind 24k gold or sterling wire that thick. Anybody have experience with this? I'm not that good at posting pictures, my nephew needs to give me another tutoriol on that again, but will when he does I will. ....Thanks , George

Last edited:

Glenn

Elite Cafe Member
Welcome George. Did you see "Paint your wagon"? Where Lee Marvin handed over the inexperienced boy to the professional lady and said return me the man. Well consider yourself handed over cause you're in the right house. Everyone here will help you in every way possible. So prepare for the ride of a lifetime.

pilkguns

~ Elite 1000 Member ~