GRS or Lindsay?

mlurth

I am just getting started in engraving. I have taken a class at GRS and have my own studio that uses GRS equipment. But my question to everyone is, which is better, GRS or Lindsay equipment? and why.
All I have known is GRS and I am interested to see what you think!:)

Andrew Biggs

Welcome to the forum

There are all sorts of tools used on this forum. Hammer/Chisel, burin, GRS, Lindsay, NGraver.

All of them are top of the line tools made to high standards and create beautiful works of art in the right hands. Likewise they can all create a butchers mess in he wrong hands.

Everyone has a personal preference as to what they like best. But the bottom line is there is no "one tool is better than the other" It's more a matter of what you personaly like useing. No one tool will make you a better engraver as that comes from your imagination, designs and skill base.

Cheers
Andrew

vilts

Elite Cafe Member
Tool fight! Tool fight! :D

People use both, people do amazing art with both (and without any system) and people speak good and bad things about both. If at any way possible, you should try Lindsay system and then draw your own conclusions.

I got along with GraverMax just fine, but man how I'm loving the Lindsay Classic with PalmControl.

Viljo

Danny C

How much do you want to spend?
How much convenience do you want?
How much room do you have to put equipment?

These are all limiting factors. If none of them are a problem, then the top of the line is best.
If you have a smallish space then putting the compressor somewhere else is necessary, but then the controls for the GRS is not at hand, so the Lindsay steps up.

If convenience is paramount and no other considerations apply - then it is the Lindsay Palm Control. No foot pedals, no knobs to adjust. All adjustments are on the tool (except for air pressure - but it is on the control unit that supplies the air).