Question: GRS Palm control

zzcutter

Elite Cafe Member
Hello all,

I was wondering if anybody has any experience with the GRS Gravermax system with the palm control hand piece. Any Input on this subject would be appreciated

Thanks, ZZ

Beathard

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I have some experience with all three styles developed at GRS. I know a lot of people love the palm control, but it causes me to revert to my primary fault which is gripping to hard. It gives my hand cramps. Being a musician for many years I have lots of experience using foot pedals. That might be the reason I love the foot control.

Recently in a class at GRS I found a solution I love. They make a finger/thumb control. This worked great for me as we'll.

I truly believe this palm/finger/thumb/foot control question comes down to preference. Your results WILL vary.

DKanger

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
To use the palm control with the GMax, you will need the add on Airtact unit.

Karl Stubenvoll

Elite Cafe Member
I, too, did not like the feel of the Airtact Palm control system. Whittling away at the rubber flapper valve didn't make things any better, either. It was a constant fight, and I was so frustrated with the system that I did not even try the thumb control option.

As a full time goldsmith, I use a foot-controlled flexible shaft and handpiece combo, and I very much prefer the use of my well-trained foot.

Roger Bleile

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
FWIW, Palmcontrol is a trademark of Lindsay Engraving and Tools. The system that allows GRS tools to be operated without a foot pedal is called an Airtact.