Hello everyone

dbeck

My name is Derek and I am just getting started (1 yearish). I have been poking around on this site for just a couple weeks and have already learned so much and as I was driving back to work from picking up some O1 1/8 drill rod to make some background dotting tools I learned about on here I thought I should introduce myself and give thanks. I am not an artist, sculpture, or all that creative really. I know my way around a mill, lathe, and welder though and I am finding this skill so incredible to learn. After putzing around for a while bout 2 months ago I decided to donate a significant amount of time to engraving. Love it! The neat thing is I can see my skills improving every hour at the bench. Im drawing every day and I see improvement but still a long way to go. I practice on a lot of internet pictures. I really enjoy reading about all of your projects here and other social media places. Really inspiring and so many of you are willing to reach out and help. I hope I can be helpful someday.

Anyway thank you all for allowing me to participate in these discussions. I am not afraid of constructive criticism and thank you in advance for all the things I will learn here. Attached are a few things I have done so far. Some ok some not so much but I am having fun along the way.

Have a great weekend!
Derek

Attachments

• scribe.jpg
    scribe.jpg
    167.7 KB · Views: 100
  • tools.jpg
    tools.jpg
    151.1 KB · Views: 105
  • flower.jpg
    flower.jpg
    208 KB · Views: 106
  • bench 1.jpg
    bench 1.jpg
    164.2 KB · Views: 108
  • punnisher.jpg
    punnisher.jpg
    95.4 KB · Views: 112
  • beard.jpg
    beard.jpg
    119.7 KB · Views: 113
  • box.jpg
    box.jpg
    184.7 KB · Views: 119
  • bribe.jpg
    bribe.jpg
    163.9 KB · Views: 112
  • scribe parts.jpg
    scribe parts.jpg
    153 KB · Views: 107

Doc Mark

~ Elite 1000 Member ~