Hello from bigransom.

bigransom

Elite Cafe Member
Hello All.
I'm an artist and designer in Austin, Texas. I've been wanting to expand my talents to hand engraving in metals for a while. And now the time is right to adjust the studio and add an engraving station for metals and guns.

I do hand engraving in concrete and wood now, and look forward to coming up to speed in adding metal work to my projects. As well, I'm a gun collector and have some gun projects in the works.

I'm in the process of evaluating tool systems, and for someone who is pretty familiar with tools - the engraving systems have a lot to offer and much to study prior to making a choice. Any input on systems would be appreciated, greatly.

I'm leaning Lindsey Palm Control (didn't see that coming, did you? :) ).

But I'm looking at the advantages of all, and have an open mind.

I just wanted to say hello and thanks in advance, as I know that you are all busy and your time is important to you and your families. Any input and answers are greatly appreciated.

In my studio I do publication and book design, custom edition book binding, book boxes - and specialize in centuries old, traditional hand-binding in Japanese and European binding techniques and methods.

I also do graphic design, and have a production shop - so if I can be of help to you in an area where you need additional capabilities for a project - don't hesitate to let me know. I'm here to help.

Here's looking forward to working with you, meeting many of you, and enjoying learning from you all.
scottd.
Big Ransom Studio

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
you're just the type person to "fit in" here. welcome, and send a few fotos of your handwork. i'd personally like to see a foto or2 of your concrete & wood carvings. if you check out the tips section, you'll find some valuable tricks of the trade as some say. this forum affords one the oppurtunity to learn much, with no outlay of cash. how cool is that ?

bigransom