Hi to all

Smallpatch

Hi Gang,

Well, this is my first time here.... be gentle with me.

I am a "primitive engraver" and a rank novice at that. Primarily, I engrave patchboxes, and inlays on Pennsylvania/Kentucky rifles that I build.

Wanting to improve my abilities, I ventured here.

I have long been a member of several other boards and have found them very valuable and infomative to improving my craft skills.

Hope to do the same here.

Thanks so much.;)

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Hello, and welcome to the Cafe. You'll find a friendly bunch that's willing to help and share information. Post some photos of your rifles...I'm sure everyone will enjoying seeing your work. / ~Sam

Ken Hurst

Elite Cafe Member
Welcome aboard Mr. Smallpatch ---- you'll find all here are ready and happy to help ! You'll not find a better, friendlier bunch of people to work with re. your questions. Ken

KSnyder

Elite Cafe Member
Smallpatch,
Welcome aboard, I also build flintlocks since 84'. that's how the engraving bug bit me. pic of a recent lefty I made. I cut the old way also, hmr & chsl.
This is a great forum, especially for us greenhorns.
Kent

Attachments

• DSCN0249.jpg
    DSCN0249.jpg
    46.7 KB · Views: 78

William Grubb

Elite Cafe Member
Hi Smallpatch,
I too have built a Flintlock, everyone here is willing to help,with any questions you may have, so don't be afraid to ask.There is a good bunch of knowlegeable guys ,and gals on this forum. Welcome aboard.

Old rifles

Hi Mr. Smallpatch: I would be very Interested in seeing your work, This is where my interest in engraving started, my fathers gun shop always had an original flintlock or percussion gun from those years leaning against the wall. Those old guns took my third dimensional technicolor imagination for a ride.
Thanks Jack Davenport.

Cody

Elite Cafe Member
Welcome aboard Dane, your in for a real treat. This place is the ALR of engraving.

Cody

Smallpatch

Hi Guys,