Letter Engraving Advice Needed

Norm

I've agreed to engrave a french poesy ring for a friend of mine. However I'm having trouble figuring out the best way to engrave the lettering. FYI - This is my first attempt at lettering on a piece of Jewellery....don't worry however it's not a sentimental piece, its a silver ring I cast in my shop.

I tried engraving the slogan yesterday on a practice plate but didn't have too much success. I tried using a flat, a 90 and a 120 but my efforts don't seem to be producing very good results. I'm also not sure if I should be trying to remove material in one pass or multiple passes.

I am using a microscope and the lettering is approx 2.5mm high. For a beginner, I may have bitten off more than I can chew using this font. In any case I'm determined to get this done and would greatly appreciate any advice. I've attached a sample of the lettering.

Thanks,

Attachments

• font.jpg
    font.jpg
    2.7 KB · Views: 159

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Norman: I've done a few posey rings, and cut the old English or calligraphic style of lettering with a flat graver and then cut the serifs or poins with a square. Don't feel that you have to make the cut in one pass. I usually make multiple cuts to achieve the depth I need. I suppose you could cut this style with a round graver as well, but my first choice would be a flat. / ~Sam

GeorgeKhayata

I do a lot of lettering on jewelry, for this kind of job I would use the liner graver and the square. I think the liner could be easier for you to control.
But when the master "Sam" says he uses the flat I am going to try it my self and see how it works.
George

Norm

Thanks for the pointers......I'll be giving them a try over the week-end and will let you how it goes.

What is a liner?....is it just a very narrow flat? Do I need to put a heel on it like a flat?

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member