Microscope question

takedeadaim

I am relatively new to engraving but have some health issues that lead me to be looking at a set up with a microscope. I've had multiple spinal injuries and multiple surgeries in an attempt to "fix" the problems. Posture is important to my ability to work comfortably, hence the scope. Unfortunately I don't know a whole lot about them, other than experience with good optics and cheap optics and have grown to appreciate the benefit of good equipment.

I have recently acquired a nice used drill press from which I have made an adjustable height turntable by adding a thrust bearing under the round table's center pivot. My vise, while not a low profile also has a built in bearing pivot.

A company that I have purchased some equipment from in the past recently got about a dozen Meiji EMZ5 scopes with SWF 10x eyepieces and the florescent lights. None have objective lenses.

I do wear glasses and need them to see near and far. My questions are;

Is this a decent scope that will be good in the long run? Do these eyepieces work with glasses? I know i wold need the objective lens, which one would you suggest?

From what I see the drill press adjustable height set up works well for most people, is the low profile vise something I would need as well?

I so appreciate this forum and have gained much by reading but wanted to get these specific questions answered. Thanks in advance for your time.

John B.

Lifetime Pledge Member
::::Pledge Member::::
I have recently acquired a nice used drill press from which I have made an adjustable height turntable by adding a thrust bearing under the round table's center pivot. My vise, while not a low profile also has a built in bearing pivot.

A company that I have purchased some equipment from in the past recently got about a dozen Meiji EMZ5 scopes with SWF 10x eyepieces and the florescent lights. None have objective lenses.

I do wear glasses and need them to see near and far. My questions are;