More on transferring a design

vanknife

Elite Cafe Member
Bear in mind I am new to this and still searching

Let me share n little experiment on transferring an image to steel and or any object to be engraved.

I have read and tried various methods of transferring an image or design, what worked for me up to now was the laser printer with heat rollers dislodged and on paper. It is however difficult to place the designs on a knife bolster and get it right on both sides. Here it comes, printing on transparent sheet I tried every thing I read about soap treatment, sharpies etc. and it did not work for me, and then I tried something out of desperation and it works for me. I covered the coarse side of the transparent with a green whiteboard marker and then printed the design on that and “whala” it works I transferred the design to a practice plate with no problem. I used the same print about three times and still get a clear and crisp transfer.

I would like to know if it works for anybody else.

Cheers

“VAN’

Last edited:

Tira

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Wow! I'll have to try that. Did only the print transfer - no marker? Or did both transfer to the metal? Thanks for sharing your observations. It saves everyone time and frustration to see what has already been tried and, in this case, what has worked. :)

vanknife

Elite Cafe Member
Good day Tira,
only the print transfer to the the surface what i forgot to say is that the surface was treated with china white, and the print was done with a HP Photosmart printer.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
after all the fiddlin around, and spending serious grocery money on all kind of crazy stuff : hp printer- print onto laser transparency. this image will transfer with nominal burnish pressure, very fine lines. total detail. you would want a spritz of fixatiff, though. if you do it on the sharpie, you don't need fixatiff. the lines are easier to see wo the sharpie though.

monk

Staff member