My point of view and where I'm coming from...

jfava

Many of my fellow engravers think that I was born with a graver in my hand or something... or had some natural ability to just pick up a graver and go...

This is ridiculous, NOT true, and I'll be happy to embarrass myself if it helps a few beginners find their way... so let me illustrate my point.

First off: My first experience using a graver was for stone setting in my apprenticeship that started when I was 15. I had no idea what hand engraving was.

When I was 18 I met a hand engraver for the first time in San Francisco when I was there for a stone setting course.

My first impression... I was blown away and had him engrave my ring. On my ring he engraved scrolls. I had no idea what a scroll was... but I thought it was the coolest thing I ever saw.

I went home and practiced using my stone setting onglette , and flat.
After ONE WHOLE YEAR of obsessive practicing, self taught without any knowledge of what a heel even was... the end of that first year, this is what I came up with:

I enrolled in my first hand push ornamental jewelry engraving class... I was the worst by far in the class... (PIC below)

but... I absolutely loved it... so much so that I practiced the same cuts over and over, every day, every week on top of my full time job. One whole year of this practice got me to this point... all hand cut(PIC below)

I had no idea what a gravermax or airgraver was or any idea of the gun world... There were no forums at this time!!!!!

While I was at my first class. I purchase the Meek's book and Ron Smith's first scroll book... and proceeded to read and copy EVERY illustration in the books to scale.... BY HAND

LOL... Notice the gold plated ducks....

The two Photo's above show my very first relief work... done entirely with a push graver...(hundreds of hours)

Then I discovered GRS classes, and the MSN forum(first forum)... and signed up for two beginner classes with Scott Pilkington, and Mike Dubber.