Question: Newbie Help!

Ed Douglas

Greetings!
I'm a newbie! I mean a brand new "Newbie" I am really interested in getting started! My Interests in engraving is the american style of engraving as seen on Patchboxes and inlays of the "Golden Age"
and earlier American Longrifles. I am not interested in power engraving, but rather in the hammer/chisel
method. my question is, What do I need to get started?? what Gravers will I use the most? I was told
by an old engraver "Charlie Baker" that 80% is done with a square carbide? is this right? help me out Pards!
Ed Douglas.

D.Ellis

Hi Ed,
Welcome to the fray:)
I also use hammer and chisel and like the traditional low tech method. I like the steel belgian style handles from Ngraver and mostly use square and flat gravers made of high speed steel. I also use a vise mounted to a post that I can walk around rather than the more modern methods of turntable or gravers ball.Someone with more expertise will chime in soon to better inform you.
Darcy

CRW

Elite Cafe Member
Hi, Ed and Darcy

I too started out years ago engraving to old way and did a few floor plates for the 98 Mausers.
I used a fixed vise and hammer and Chisel. The tools I used for scrolls 90% of the time were the Onglette, in different sizes. These I could roll and and vary the width of the line for a bright cut effect. Then again I was self taught and don't know if I was doing it right or not. Like you said Darcy, I am sure some of the better engravers will chime in and give you the right direction.
I ordered my supplies from Brownell's. At that time they had everything I thought I needed to start. I bought James Meeks book back then and even talked to him on the phone. He was a great help in the sharping area especially.
Don't know if this helps or not but it's my 2 cents worth.
Good luck and show us some pictures as you progress.
Carl

Last edited:

Ron Smith

~ Elite 1000 Member ~