personal question for full timers

TFACARVING

Elite Cafe Member
For those comfortable with sharing I was wondering how much y'all make as full time engravers per year. It is my goal to eventually become a full-time engraver and I'm working fields to help expand my skills and knowledge but I don't know what a realistic annual income should be or at the very least what's out there at the different skill levels

Travis Fry

I have wondered this too. I'm a full time CPA and intend to be for at least another 10 years, but I'd like engraving to be a profitable sideline until then and a reliable source of non-retirement income after (i.e., money I don't have to have--I've planned for all of that-- but that would minimize future withdrawals). Numbers would be useful for my calculations, but not essential.

If it's anything like knifemaking, the best way to do it full time is to have a spouse with a good job. Or to inherit a bunch of money. Or to be really poor, all the time. Or get famous, if you can manage it.

pkroyer

As a CPA you should have all the tools you need to figure this out. I think it is just like CPAs, there are partners in big firms who make millions and worker bees that make a good living at less than 100K.

There is the old saying that the best way to make a small fortune in an art/craft, is to start out with a large fortune. A couple of years ago one of the famous recognized engravers was having to sell off some equipment to finance a home remodeling project.

Sinterklaas

Elite Cafe Member