Question: Please help me identify the engraver of this Ruger Blackhawk

Doc Nonverbal

Hello all,

This revolver is a 70's Ruger Blackhawk with a SuperBlackhawk grip frame. I can't find any markings to indicate who did the engraving and unfortunately the seller wasn't the original owner and had no information to share. Any guidance you could offer on who did this work and the quality of the engraving (I'm not ashamed to admit that I'm a complete novice) would be greatly appreciated!

There are three initials on the top of the backstrap that appear to be EAL. These look to be acid-etched rather than engraved are are quite large, so I'm assuming that these were the owner's initials rather than the engraver's.

I'm giving serious consideration to having some modifications made to this revolver (Bisley hammer, Bowen sights, Keith #5 base pin, crescent ejector, and steel ejector rod housing), then having the receiver and frame color-case hardened and barrel & cylinder charcoal blued by Doug Turnbull Restorations (the current finish is a deep black). Unless the "EAL" initials are the engraver's, I would have these removed during the refinishing. If you believe these modifications would be ill-advised and would reduce the value of the revolver, please let me know.

Thank you very much for your time and willingness to guide a novice!

David

Doc Nonverbal

Addendum: If more detailed photos are needed, please let me know. I have a decent macro lens and can probably get some good close-up shots of the engraving if this would help with identification.

Thanks!

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::