sharpening question

Stonesetter77

Hi there, my question is, is there a big difference between a diamond sharpening stone and a normal whetstone like for sharpening kitchen knives ? I'm ordering lindsay templates but the sharpening stones cost over 100$ in shipping costs to germany so I'm trying to figure out an alternative for the stones. Also, I'm only learning engraving and wouldn't be sharpening gravers daily. Thanks for any help, tips or links.

Stonesetter77

Hi there, my question is, is there a big difference between a diamond sharpening stone and a normal whetstone like for sharpening kitchen knives ? I'm ordering lindsay templates but the sharpening stones cost over 100$ in shipping costs to germany so I'm trying to figure out an alternative for the stones. Also, I'm only learning engraving and wouldn't be sharpening gravers daily. Thanks for any help, tips or links.
And I Have a grs power hone, but grits only to 600. Would like something like 1500,3000 grit

ShaneMac

What I've been told is that a graver will gouge a whetstone very fast, since its surface area is much smaller than a plane blade or kitchen knife. You'll wear out the stone by both sharpening the graver, and constantly flattening it.

dcurrie911

Elite Cafe Member
after 600 grit I use a Lindsay 1200 diamond ‘stone’ and polish with a ruby stone shimmed to 1/2” to fit the templates.

Dan

Sinterklaas

Elite Cafe Member
Better to use diamond. It will stay flat. Stones will get grooves. I have brought some diamondwheels for my powerhone from Aliexpress and they are nice. grit 320 I think, 600, 1200 and 3000.

In Germany there are plenty of jewelry suppliers. Search for them online. They will have what you need.

try:
www.horbach-technik.de
www.flume.de

Ryan138

Elite Cafe Member