Suggesting steel for an engraved dagger

Hello, I am a beginner engraver, and so far I engraved on brass and sterling silver.

I practiced a tiny bit on some unknown piece of steel, and it really resisted, and any non-shallow cuts turned out really bad.

I want to create a dagger blade, engrave it, and then harden it.

Are there some suggested types of steel for this job?

Also, I have Lindsay HSS engraver bits (probably not the correct term).
Should I get carbide engravers for steel?

I attached an image listing the steel alloys I can actually get where I live.

Thanks for any input!

Attachments

• steel.jpg
    steel.jpg
    154 KB · Views: 217

Boomhower

Elite Cafe Member
What you are looking for in blade steel is carbon content the higher the better
Most used in the blacksmithing I have seen is 1085,,,1095,,5160,,W1,,O2 ,,
Any of these will make a blade that will stay sharp and last forever
I listed them low to high the higher the carbon content the harder they are to work
If you are just making a wall hanger then you will want to get some cheaper steel
Do you have a forge and the tools to do all this. There is alot of knowledge that goes into making a good blade. It's like engraving your first few attempts will be good practice
I do alot of blacksmithing I like it. I will help you all I can
Do you have a good belt sander if not you will deff need one
Here is a photo of the first cable Damascus knife I done. This pic was before I etched it

Attachments

• 20151022_173103.jpg
    20151022_173103.jpg
    145 KB · Views: 207
I don't live in the USA, so I am pretty limited with the stuff I can get.

I don't have a forge, but I think I'll get by with the stuff I do have access to (I work as a goldsmith).

So, from the image I posted, the best I can get is 1045?

Boomhower

Elite Cafe Member
1045 wouldn't make a very strong blade at all if you plan to use it