Question: What Drawing Skills Are Needed for Engraving?

brennon272

Since the drawing section here is read only, I am a newbie wondering what drawing skills are important to have? Are there things that are essential that do carry over to engraving? Things that do not? I have recently bought some drawing materials and want to learn the necessary skills that will carry over to engraving while I save up for a Lindsay Palm Control. Additionally, I have purchased Sam's "The Essential Guide to Drawing Scrolls" though I have not progressed by minute 5 with trying to draw these darn backbones. Any good reading or reference material recommendations are also appreciated! I primarily am interested in gun and knife engraving and perhaps a minor amount of jewelry for the significant other. I know this is a pretty broad topic, but I really do not know very much about drawing so am unable to ask specific questions. If there is any special drawing supplies I should acquire I am all ears. Thanks everyone!

rweigel

Elite Cafe Member
France (north of Alsace, close to Germany)
Hi brennon272, I have no answers to your questions, except that „drawing skills seem very important, what you can‘t draw you can not engrave convincingly“. I‘m a bit in the same situation as you, with focus on jewellry engraving. I‘d also like hints to books and online references, suitable for people with zero artistic training and no obviuos, self-relvealing sketching and drawing talent.

I would like to add one more question to those engravers here who are very good at drawing and designing:

How did you learn artistic drawing, sketching, designing?