What engraving dvd do you recommend for a newbie?

accesskb

Hi all,
I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to engraving. I have used gravers for minor cleanup work on bezel set stones and think I have a good understanding of sharpening gravers from books I've read and Sam's videos I've seen.
I have picked up Sam Alfano's engraving dvds also and they are amazing. I know there must be countless of similar threads already but I was wondering if any of you can recommend a structured dvd course for a beginner? I would prefer if there was something more like a course in school to build up my skills which progressed from the basics to more advanced skills. (eg: start cutting straight lines, then circles, then something more difficult etc) I tend to be overwhelmed, all over the place and don't get much done without some structure.

thanks,
Allen

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
i believe chris decamillis offers an on-line, live training session tailored to the needs of the student. there surely others, but his come to mind. it would be advantageous to get a bit of preliminary practice in before actually taking his training sessioons. best to contact him.

Last edited:

accesskb

i believe chris decamillis offers an on-line, live training session tailored to the needs of the student. there surely others, but his come to mind. it would be advantageous to get a bit of preliminary practice in before actually taking his training sessioons. best to contact him.

thanks.. I will look into his courses. I do agree its always best to get some prelim practice in before starting a course to make the most of it. I must say I just managed to look through Sam's dvds and they are amazing.. Got a better hang of the process involved in engraving. I'm sure it is so much harder than it looks. haha

accesskb

There is a Basic Engraving Seminar by Master Engraver Rex Pedersen DVD available at Fega.com
Here is a link

http://fega.com/prodserv/DVD.asp?recidparam=148