A H Fox shotguns

thefox

Hi, everybody!
I will start by saying how much I enjoy all the information that you can get from this site! I believe it's the most unselfish bunch I've ever seen, and I hope that someday I can be of help also.

I am a rank beginner, and had never put a scratch on anything until I went to a beginner's class at GRS last Sept 10 that was taught by Marty Rabino. It was a most enjoyable week! I had read J. B, Meeks book, and tried to get some ideas beforehand. I started buying equipment all year up until the date of the class. I purchased Sam's video beforehand, and got in pretty good shape on sharpening. It was just like a kid before Christmas with me waiting for the class! I certainly was not dissapointed. I wanted to get started on the right foot, and not acquire any bad habits.

A H Fox shotguns are my weakness! I love'em! I still have the one my dad gave me when I was a kid, and have started collecting them after I made up my mid about engraving, and that I was going to go for it! Now for a question.....do any of you have, or know where I could get a suitable design that I can put on a customized Fox sterlingworth? I know that's a big order, and I'm practicing on drawing with Ron's books, but let's face it, I'll be 71 years old in June, and I'm "running low on gas"! I have cut a bunch of practice plates, and am ready to give it a shot! Any help will be appreciated, thanks Bryan Clary

Tim Wells

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I'd say look all over the net at photos of engraved examples and find one you like that you feel is in your ability range to cut. Modify that design and change it up a bit to make it unique to you and not a direct copy of anothers work and just do it.

pilkguns

~ Elite 1000 Member ~