a message knife

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
i'm posting these fotos in behalf of john robbins. by trade, chief engineer on an oilwell rig repair ship. the theme is if you're a seashell with pearls, stay away from an octopus. especially one with rubies for eyes. john did the damascus blade and blued it somehow. the sheath is 2-piece soldered silver, and then he blued it. scales of mop. the octopus and the starfish eating away at the shell were originally carved in wax, then lost wax cast by john. all in all, i think this is an amazing body of work. john is also an engraver of about 6 years experience. i dare say we have not seen the last from this gentleman !

Attachments

• JR.jpg
    JR.jpg
    30.2 KB · Views: 273
  • JR1.jpg
    JR1.jpg
    38.1 KB · Views: 275
  • JR2.jpg
    JR2.jpg
    26.2 KB · Views: 125
  • JR3.jpg
    JR3.jpg
    30.3 KB · Views: 179
  • JR4.jpg
    JR4.jpg
    29.6 KB · Views: 163
  • JR5.jpg
    JR5.jpg
    30.3 KB · Views: 173

JTR

Thanks again to Monk for posting the pictures for me, although his description credits me a little too much.
I didn't forge the damascus blade, but bought a bar and ground the blade from it, which was truely a pain in the rear and I wouldn't really want to do it again with my simple tools. I did carve all the wax casting pieces, but after trying unsuccessfully to cast a few of the simple pieces, enlisted the help of a jewelry maker friend and his high tech casting machine which gave perfect results every time.
This is my first attempt at making a knife, and after learning a lot doing this one, the next one will be much easier and quicker.
As for the subject, form, whatever you want to call it, I’ve worked on ships for many years, so using the critters that lurk in the ocean just seemed natural. I won’t be giving up my job anytime soon to make knifes however, as this took about 10 months of work, but was a great bit of fun doing it.
Now maybe I can spend some time practicing engraving!
John