OK, I'm gonna give this a shot.

Holy cow, I did it!!!!!!!

Attachments

• Goose print.jpg
    Goose print.jpg
    50.6 KB · Views: 265

Ron Smith

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Joe , don't ask me, I don't even know how i did it.........Can you relate to that?

sdcoxx

Elite Cafe Member
Bravo, Ron
I just read your bio on the GRS website. As a beginner, I'd like to know more.
I suggest that your Cafe Interview is OVER due.
In addition, I'd like to know more about the engraving process to make prints...
Respectfully,
Stephen

Ron Smith

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Stephen, the goose print is not actually a print, but a lythograph, printed with modern methods. An actual print from an engraving is a true print whereby you engrave the plate backwards, the plate is inked (an art in itself), a damp piece of rag paper is placed over the plate, then covered with a felt blanket, then rolled through an etching press. You get one copy for that effort, you hang it up to dry, and then have to start the process all over again for another print.

sdcoxx

Elite Cafe Member
Thank you, Ron
Some advise if you would, please. I'm a beginner. I've been practicing on buffalo nickels for the past year. Yes, hobo nickels. I sell them on ebay. I enjoy the mini bas relief form of engraving. I've taken the GRS basic engraving class and intermediate class in 2006. I just completed the GRS western silver engraving class. I hope to incorperate as many different engraving forms into my engraving arsenal as possilbe. I've got lots jto learn, NO doubt...
Based on my enjoyment of the bas relief engraving, what types or format of engraving would suggest I look at?
Secondly, I've wanted to engrave a knife. I've read about 914 ss for engraving, I can't tell 914 from 440ss.
Which knives are nice for a beginner to engrave? I've heard about a Remington at Walmart, they carry a dozen Remington knives. Which one, the one with the nickel silver bolsters? The 4'' Spyderco?