Gun Blueing-before Or After Engraving

CORBIN, KY. NEAR CUMBERLAND FALLS STATE PARK
I am a beginner and have a lot of questions so my questions will be simple to most of you. But if you don't
know; you just don't know. I have been hammer engraving for a few months and would like to try a little simple scroll on a old single barrel pump shotgun I have. This gun needs rebluing. Do I engrave first and then
blue or blue and then engrave? Second, after engraving a gun with the blueing ok, do it do something to darken or blue the engraving since it is bright metal? Thanks

SamW

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
Castle Valley, UT in the Red Rock country
Gerald, the proper way is to strip off the old blueing using a rust remover like Naval Jelly, polish the metal, engrave, then have the part reblued, either hot tank blued or rust blued.

That is not to say that cutting through the original blue and leaving it that way hasn't been done and as far as I know may still be done by some though I haven't seen that in a long time. It is just not the accepted way to engrave a gun.

Once engraved and blued, some engravers will remove selected areas of blue to enhance the engraving. This is something you may want to consider after you get a little experience.

S

monk

Staff member
engraving thru the blue leaves a nice contrast to the untrained eye. and to some, i guess, it does have a level of visual appeal because of the contrast. but--- the engraving is wide open to rust, and it will rust. when the rust develops down in the engraved lines you, or your customer have a real mess. it's so much easier on the eyes as well, to work on the parts with the bluing removed. when your cust. tells you to go ahead and engrave thru the blue, that they will get it re-blued later-- this makes no sense. it tells me the person simply doesn't want to spend a few xtra bucks for the re-blue. guess who gets the blame later when the engraving gets rusty ??

ED DELORGE

Elite Cafe Member