Hello everyone!

My name is Miranda, I am a member of the FEGA. I am just starting out with engraving and I'm very excited about it! I am originally an oil painter (on canvas) but my father-in-law who restores guns steered me in this direction. :) I just mastered (or at least, figured out) how to sharpen the gravers properly and start making decent engravings. So I'm sure that I'll be picking everone's brains to try to figure all of this out. I'm looking forward to meeting all of you! :D

Miranda

Otto Carter

Elite Cafe Member
20 miles Southeast of Abilene, Texas on 22 acres.
That's great to hear. I also came into this art from a painting background. Did you go to a school? If so, which one? What graver grind do you use mostly? What kind of tools do you have? Do you have a website for your art? See what a big can of worms you opened by posting on this forum?

WOW!! I didn't expect such a quick response!! Thank you for the welcomes. :) To answer your questions Otto, from the top, I took some classes from a very brilliant painter (last name Amarante) when I turned 16 for a couple of months and then he left. I figured the rest out on my own. Graver grind...as in sharpening?? Mostly the 600 grit and then the ceramic lap for the heel. I bought Sam's DVD on sharpening gravers. As for my equipment, I have the GRS Gravermeister with two hand pieces, one new one on the way, the dual angle sharpening fixture and a dual grinder that my husband bought for me for the taper. I am working on the website right now...a lady that I work with does a great job and is currently working on my husband's website for classic car restoration (www.clearcreekrestorations.com, if anyone is interested...for fun) so when she is done with his I should have more pictures to really get started on mine. Do you have a website??

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::