Medieval Monier

Hello,

I mess around making medieval style coins. I'm pretty new to all this. I subscribed to this forum to try to learn more about engraving. And it has worked. Here are some of my more recent attempts.

Attachments

• coins-obs.jpg
    coins-obs.jpg
    86.9 KB · Views: 112
  • coins-rev.jpg
    coins-rev.jpg
    98.7 KB · Views: 134

Billzach

Elite Cafe Member
Thank you for showing us your great coins, maybe you could tell us a little about your tools you use and how you got into making medieval coins.

I belong to a medieval re-enactment group called the Society for Creative Anachronisms (www.sca.org) and have messed about with a variety medievalesque metal working activities. A couple of years ago I got some instruction on coin making and away I went.

I attempt to use medieval techniques and styles on the coins. At least far as my knowledge and talents allow. I especially like 13th century coins from the crusader states. The big coin in the picture is inspired by gros tournais of 13th century Tripoli and the odd helmeted guy is inspired by a 13th century denier of Antioch. The profiled head is a inspired by a 9th century Hiberno-Norse copy of a 9th century anglo-saxon coin.