microscope ?

charles vail

I'm new here and am considering the purchase of a microscope from Otto Frei with the LED ring light. These list for around $1200 and fit within my price range. I would consider a Meiji but would like to use the additional money for a better air compressor. Do any of you have experience with the brand Otto Frei is selling? I am a jeweler by trade and want to expand into more engraving plus I am over 45 and the old eyes are not working as well with just an optivisor. Any info or tips would be appreciated. :)

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
microscope

i don't know the brand otto frei sells. i purchased a used scienscope brand. a brand which i had never heard of. i bought it april 2007. very happy with the purchase. beware, buying used, even the best brands can bring problems along. make sure the seller allows returns.

Marrinan

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Charles, there have been several threads on this topic a search will get you a lot of information and opinions-You might also check out the Lindsey and knifenetwork/forums/fine embellishment sites.
I bought the Omano OM99/V6 - 6.5x-45x Stereo, Zoom, Boom Microscope for about $1200 with all the accessories I wanted (12 watt ring lite with backup bulbs, .75 lens to enlarge the fiel of view 15 power lenses-Bought form the microscope store-very happy with scope and the folks that run the place could not be more helpful-I had a issue with the clamp on thd boom stand-it split-They sent a replacement and 2 spares just in case-highly recomend http://www.microscope-store.com/engraving-microscopes-c-8.html

Fred

Peter E

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I have also read a lot of favorable comments about the microscope store but I have not had any dealings with them myself. I bought a Meiji from GRS and I like it very much. I think the typical consensus is to buy the best that fits into the amount you are able to spend.

Good luck,
Peter

rhenrichs

Elite Cafe Member