New Engraver Advice on What Equipment 2Buy

studioscarab

Hello, my name is Monte Moore, I am an illustrator of almost 20 years, and am interested in doing some engraving. My work is often commissioned for high end custom motorcycles, and I thought it would be great to do engraved designs such as scrollwork, illustrations and typography onto parts of the motorcycle. Usually this is done on engine cases, which are billeted aluminum. I don't know where to start, so any suggestions on the type of equipment that would have the proper power and accuracy would be most useful, especially regarding resale equipment I can pick up cheaper than a new setup.

thanks
Monte
www.mavarts.com

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
goodness, it would seem you have fallen into good hands here. i've done a few bike parts but am no expert by any means. i think our moderator, tira, could best answer that question. i feel she is probably the most qualified to speak of the requirements for the particular needs you seek. i usually advise people to at least give push graving a try, but you may be better advised to go the way of grs power equipment. i only use the gravermeister, so cant speak about the other grs choices. tira could steer you the right way here.

studioscarab

Monk, thanks for the advice, you are the second to recommend speaking with her, plus I learned alot from Steve Lindsey's site as well, seems like a great group of artisans here.

Monte

rod

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Monte,

You have come across an excellent forum with a ton of great contributors, and clearly you have great confidence in your art creations, as seen on your web, so the new thing in engraving is working on an unforgiving canvas.