newbie scrimshander saying hello

KatherinePlumer

Elite Cafe Member
Hi everyone. Okay, I know this is the engraver's cafe and I'm not exactly an engraver, but this seemed like a friendly place to show my stuff for the first time. I hope that's okay. I was referred here by Brian Hochstrat, who also said to me the fateful words "you should try scrimshaw" a few weeks ago. Like a moth to a flame... I'm hooked! ;)

I've been working as an artist/illustrator for the last several years... western art, pet portraits, book illustrations, chicken art, lol! I must say it's incredibly refreshing to find that engravers and scrimshanders seem to be a group of people that respect their time, and expect no less from everyone else. Bravo! I see far too much gross underpricing in the art world. Been there too, but it just drags everyone down, and I'm super excited to venture into this new medium.

So I fiddled around with scratching the backs of some plastic spoons with no magnification while waiting for my new goodies arrive... I won't show you those, but they weren't all that bad...well, okay maybe the first one was. I bought some ivory piano keys and a carbide tipped etching needle, and set out to do some real work. The best I could do was a 1.75X magnifying lamp that's here in the house (which was just endlessly frustrating), and then one fateful day while talking to my neighbors about how "some day" I would have to get a microscope, lo and behold they uttered the words "we have one!"

[insert orchestral sound that goes with the "voila" moments in movies]

And so the world of 10X magnification opened up. WOW. Let me say again, WOW! Totally awesome. I can see why I couldn't do this without it! So I've just been scratching away at some piano keys, getting a feel for the process (having done drypoint etching and scratchboard helps a lot!) and perhaps more importantly getting a feel for how long it takes. I'm hooked, I love this! I can't wait to try some color scrim.