Kayla

Hello All:

I am trying to learn how to hand engrave. I have a Gravermax and a few books, I did get a couple of lessons, but then had to move. Now I am in Northern British Columbia, so I don't know when/if I will be able to get some further instruction. I used to be machine engraver (still have a rotary engraver), but have always been interested in hand engraving.

I look forward to reading your various posts and learning from you all.

Thank you

Edit
22JUL07 - So, I tried to reply yesterday, but I didn't notice it post. Apparently, it is not just hand engraving I am a newbie to.

Thanks Tira.

Tom, I had a small business and used a Xenetech 1313 for producing name plates, badges and other signage, I sold that when I left the Province. When I moved to BC, I bought a Xenetech Star 912 - don't really like it.

Ron, I have always preferred hand engraving over machine. As a child I lived down the street from a hand engraver, I guess when I was a teenager, I should have approached him about learning the craft.

Last edited:

Tira

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Welcome! We're glad you found us. :) There is a wealth of information on this site as well as many tips and tricks on iGraver.com. Ask away and someone will help!

Tom Curran

Elite Cafe Member
Kayla, you'll get lots of good info on this forum.

I must say it is hard to beat personal instruction. You can read books and study videos, but really, the classroom situation is the best. But this forum will be a tremendous help to you until you can get some classroom time for yourself.

Machine engraving: does that mean you ran a pantograph, Gorton or Deckel, for example? I've spent a lot of time running machines like that, small pantograph milling machines. Making plastic molds, reducing patterns, nameplates, small parts, etc. The CNC technology has sent most of the glorious machines to the dumpster.