Critique Request Pipe tamper sketch

Jbardon

This is my first project using my own scroll design. It is for a pipe tamper that is 3"x1/2". Ive been reading a lot of other's scroll critiques and it has been a real help in getting me this far but I feel as if I've hit a bit of a wall, I'm still pretty new to this. I appreciate any feedback.
Jason

Kevin P.

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I like your sketch; but I'll leave it to the pros for the critique. I haven't seen anyone smoking a pipe in ages .
Kevin

eastslope

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Drawing looks pretty good to me, but I don't know squat so I'm not a whole lot of help. Saw a guy walking around smoking a pipe at a car show on Saturday, so there are still a few out there. Seth

spank7357

Elite Cafe Member
vermilion, ohio (on lake erie) and Inverness, Fla.
Jason, Not knowing exactly what shape the pipe tool is leads me to wonder why you made a mirror copy. Is this for each side? From one newbie to another I am a little jealous that your design looks so good. Me, I'm not a drawer and thereby struggle with forms such as scrolls, leaves and the like and living forms are even worse. So far I have followed the advise that I found on this site, and that is...buy Ron Smith's books on drawing scrolls, then practice your buns off. I started with one leaf pattern and drew it in the sequence as outlined in the book. Each time I sat down I attempted this same leaf without the book to see how far I could go. After many attempts I got it down. Then went on to the next scroll. Gee, this advise really works and best of all, it's FREE. Keep up the good work and thanks for sharing. Regards, Dave "Spank" Spanski

silverchip

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I Like it ,but would consider flipping one side over and in the second largest scrolls,removing one of the leaf elements so they are not so compressed.Also check the spacing around the scrolls so that it is equal distance all around the perimeter.

Jbardon