Scot's King's watch

rod

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Dipping into Scotland's past, here is a photo of an 'egg' watch made in Scotland for the Stewart king, James VI, who later went south upon the death of Elizabeth, to be the first king, James I, of Scotland and England in 1603. I studied the watch in Edinburgh. It is one of my favorite objects in the Museum of Scottish Antiquities, and is pretty nice work from the late 1500's

Rod

Last edited:

Tim Wells

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I just slobbered all over myself.:eek:
Sam, better look at this... I just love this stuff. Where did you find this photo?

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
what's the round hole-- lunar phase ? that thing must weigh a couple pounds ! kinda cute , too !

WDA

Rod,
Wonderful post! All of us watch buffs are drooling. Engraving , watch collecting and repair,
music instruments, it's driving my wife crazy! I love the art world, and that watch certainly
is a piece of art. It's great when a piece like this brings history alive. Thanks for sharing this.

Bill

Bill Tokyo

Nice, but.....

I looked at the watch for a while to try to get an idea of the functions built into it. One thing that struck me is that the curators seem to be a bit remiss as they have allowed discoloration on the bottom dial.

It looks to me like the bottom dial tells the time and the upper dial is for setting an alarm. There is a moonpase in the round hole and the day on the other side (I think) and maybe the date right about the round hole you see the moon phase in.

I can't figure out what the rest of the stuff is in upper dial where the alarm dial is. I thought at first that the upper dial was a secondary 24 hour dial, but who needed two times zones in the 17th Century? In fact, who even knew they existed. That and there are all sort of little knobs and protubrances that would keep the hand from going around, which is why I think it's an alarm watch.