Steel Rings for Engraving

Harpuahound

Elite Cafe Member
Has anyone here tried to engrave Tungsten Steel Rings? As Im a jeweler I have done almost all precios metal engravings... Im looking for a steel ring to engrave. Know any sources?

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
i'm not in the business of minding other peoples business, but you dont want to engrave tungsten. #1- tungsten isn't steel. i'd bet a small fortune that a ring made of tungsten would cost a large fortune. get some tubular steel. cut a slice off the end and clean it up. have some fun. just for practice even a piece of common water pipe might serve your need. that would be what some folks call low carbon or mild steel.
the stuff cuts easily.

monk

Staff member
tungsten steel rings

Has anyone here tried to engrave Tungsten Steel Rings? As Im a jeweler I have done almost all precios metal engravings... Im looking for a steel ring to engrave. Know any sources?

i thought you were meaning pure tungsten. tungsten carbide is engraveable only with diamond. you will find that it is harder than the cutters that you would normally use to embellish this stuff. i wouldn't wear a ring 24/7 made of this stuff. i'm curious why the industry is selling this stuff in the form of finger rings.

Harpuahound

Elite Cafe Member
i thought you were meaning pure tungsten. tungsten carbide is engraveable only with diamond. you will find that it is harder than the cutters that you would normally use to embellish this stuff. i wouldn't wear a ring 24/7 made of this stuff. i'm curious why the industry is selling this stuff in the form of finger rings.

I did mean Tungsten Carbide....I assumed it was a steel. I really know very little about steel. I am curious why you wouldnt wear this stuff 24/7.