Question: stone setting

eastslope

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Today, I was practicing bead and brightcut setting some 5mm cz's into 14 guage, I was wondering if it is OK to let a stone hang out the back of the metal on things like necklaces and things that don't lay completely against the skin. Just over a third of the 5mm cz's hang out the back, and just a little bit of 4mm cz's hang out the back of the hole in 14 gauge. Is this a big NO NO, or OK in certain cercumstances? Thanks everyone. Seth

Jackson

Wouldn't that be sharp on the back of a pendant. It would scratch the skin if its exposed. I set 8mm stones in initial buckles and the first one I did lay just inside the back of the buckle and the first time the belt went through it popped out the stone. So from that experience I would say no....
Jackson

Harpuahound

Elite Cafe Member
As a jeweler I can tell you its a huge no no if its going to be touching the skin at all. That said, sometimes the customer says do it anyways. But i never design anything like that.

Daniel Houwer

Elite Cafe Member
you can set a stone in a thin plate of metal, but you can not let the point of the stone be able to touch the skin. So build a bariar around the stone or stone's so they can protrude the top metal but ar not able to touch the skin by building a case around the top metal. Like with this unfinished prong setting.
http://s33.photobucket.com/albums/d51/danielhouwer123/?action=view&current=DSCN0099-1.jpg
hope this helps. I know this is not a plate with stone's set in but it showes how you can fix the point of the stone touching the skin.

Kevin P.

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Seth, it seems like it's No and No.
Stone setters would never; although we're not supposed to say never.
Kevin P.

nomentalgiant

Elite Cafe Member