Why Do We Engrave

Big-Un

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Well, I just found out why I REALLY like to engrave! I am a licensed electrician and have been for 37 years so I thought I would take a construction job last week (been retired for 4 years and out of construction for 15 years) to make enough money to get a microscope and a few other "necessary" items for my bench. I had forgotten that construction workers are not treated as real human beings. The job is retrofitting a brewery here in town, and if you like beer, you won't after working in one! After they finish a batch, the tank residue is flushed into a drainage system and it comes up through manholes placed strategically throughout the plant. Needless to say, it smells to high-heaven and, of course, foams up a lot, squirting out of the manholes. We were ankle deep in the biggest head of beer I have ever seen, and none of it fit to drink! Oh, to get back to why I engrave; my body will not take the heavy lifting, constant climbing on pipes and up and down ladders and scaffolds, and working seven days a week for ten hours a day. This old boy can't take it like I used to, so engraving has become much more fun and enjoyable. Believe me, work sucks. Engraving is mo betta!

Brian Hochstrat

Elite Cafe Member
Bill, I know what you mean buddy, I did metal studs and dry wall, for 2 yrs and shoeing horses on the side, it sounds crazy to people who have never worked construction but shoeing an ill mannered horse is way easier than pulling wire or hanging rock. So I quit the construction and went to shoeing, thankfully these days, with my saddlery and engraving I don't have to shoe that many. Semi-retired at age 32.:D Brian

John B.

Lifetime Pledge Member
::::Pledge Member::::
Scott P, my fiend.
I've been at this, on and off, for 60 years, as you know.
And I have never done a piece that completely satisfied me.
I learn something every day and that's what keeps me at it.