Beginner Engraving Tools

Danomite

Hi Everyone,

First post here. I am interested in getting involved in engraving. I don't have the kind of budget to buy a graversmith or anything, yet. I know it's a little more difficult, but I was thinking of trying it out by hand anyway before I start laying out big bucks.

Since I'm just beginning, I know I don't need a lot of different tools. I found this set on Rio Grande, Engraving and Texturing Kit and I thought that might be a good set to start with.

I don't plan on engraving anything large to start with. I actually don't plan on engraving anything of value at all for quite a while (ha), just maybe some brass or steel plates.

I also plan on making a bowling ball vice. I know this is probably going against the grain, but I have some experience sharpening knives from doing woodcarving previously, so I'm hoping I'll be able to get by doing it by hand until I can afford a powerhone.

I was hoping someone could take a quick look and give me their thoughts on these tools. Would this be a good starting point? Is it too much? Should I just buy a square graver and start adding tools one by one?

Thanks for any help,
Dan

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
bowling ball vise way better than none at all. i have one that i use to this day for very large, flat plates and such. if you email me , i'll send you fotos of how i modified the ball to make it useful
jayismonk450@gmail.com. any question you'll likely ever ask, has already been answered here on the forum. welcome to this forum, and i command thee-- start reading ! good luck

Danomite

Thanks, Monk, I just sent you an e-mail.

As it always works, immediately after I posted I found the tips archive above. If anyone would still care to weigh in on that set I previously mentioned I would appreciate it.

Thanks,
Dan

dlilazteca

~ Elite 1000 Member ~