Help, please: Brite Cutting on Convex Surface

txtwang

Elite Cafe Member
I have a few questions on brite cutting the overlays on the bands of a set of spurs I made. The convex surface is on a 3" dia. I'm currently practicing on steel pipe to get the "feel" of engraving on a convex surface. I don't seem to have this problem on buckles because the arch is not as severe. I'm sure alot of my problem is inexperience. I am a August grad of GRS school.
I'm using a Gravermach w/ a 901 handpiece. I have my speed set to about 17-1800. I'm normally around 2300. I'm using a 42 flat graver, 40 degree face and 20 degree rounded heel. I am engraving on sterling silver.
1. When engraving on the curve, should I try and keep the engraving surface as upright and centered as possible? Seems sometimes I need to "lean" (spin it on the vice holder) my vice instead of turning? Is this normal?
2. When I do stop to try and keep everything at the top and centered, when I restart, I seem to loose the angle of attack and either dig in or slip completely out of my existing line.
3. Any suggestions or changes to graver face or heel angles?
4. I also have some overlays (yep, on the curve) that I need to use either a square or 120 degree(or something inbetween) graver. I have more problems with these gravers digging in and slipping than with the flats, especially when I have to recenter and restart.
I will continue to cut on the steel pipe until I finally figure this out. If anyone's got any tips that I should try...I'm all ears.

Thanks in Advance
Jerry

griff silver

Elite Cafe Member
just a thought....... try to make your cuts backwards,(from tips to origin) that way youll be cutting down hill and not up hill.
PS. CONTRABAND is great hot sauce but better have some water near by; we all ate brisqute with it sunday for lunch goooood stuffff but spicy!!!

rod

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Jerry,