Question: darn rookies

irishengraver

Hello out there. My name is Will and I am one of the newest rookies to the engraver world. First of all I would like to say what a great website. I was hoping for some advice about vises if I may. I have been making bits and spurs for a couple years now and feel that I have a grip on that so want to go to the next level. I have been gathering tools (and messing around with hand engraving) and am ready to purchase a vise. My question is would grs's standard block be heavy enough or should a guy try to purchase the magna block? As I stated before I will mainly be engraving on bits and spurs. Also from the research I have done I am assumming that the 901 hand piece would best suit my needs. (I have purchesed a used gravermate) Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated as I hope to have alittle bit of a feel for things before attending a grs school. Thank you

hmw

Will, welcome to the forum. I make bit/spurs also. I have the standard GRS block, and it has served me well, but I think if I had to do it over again, I would go ahead and get the Magna block. I have had times when the xtra weight would have sure been handy. As for your second question, I have used the 901 ever since they became available, and have been able to do anything I need to do, from heavy background removal to fine line cutting. Hope this helps some. Good luck.....Regards, H.M.Wells

fegarex

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I'm not a bit and spur maker but I would think if you are going to buy a block get the Magna. It gives you more weight. The 901 is a great overall handpiece but many bit and spur engravers use the Magnum. If you are taking a GRS class for sure you might just wait to try the different tools there.

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member