elk ivory bracelet

eastslope

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Please let me know what you think. I know....it's just another bracelet, but thats what people around here ask for. Been fooling with this setting stuff starting yesterday so I am a bit new to it, and it's been many months since I played around with silver at all and I missed it. I screwed up a set of elk ivory earrings this morning that I need to get made by tomorrow. Shawn Didyoung showed us how to set an ivory a couple years ago at the Northern Boys Gather in Ten Sleep. Thanks Shawn. Anyway, I am happy to be back. Seth

Attachments

• ivory.jpg
    ivory.jpg
    34.6 KB · Views: 205

Roger Bleile

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Seth,

I personally don't care much for elk tooth jewelry (I guess it is too dental looking for me) but I understand its popularity out West. Nevertheless you did a very nice job of it. The flared ornament is well designed and cut.:thumbsup:

Roger

BTW, what's the story with your avatar? Its about the weirdest thing I've ever seen.

Last edited:

Andrew Biggs

Hi Seth

I'll take a slightly different tack from Roger :)

Borders..............when you are designing something like that either on paper or drawing onto the work. Pay attention to your borders and draw it in if you have to. You don't have to cut them but they should be there because that is what frames your work. I noticed that you have run off the edge in a few places.

Would putting the elk tooth on the bracelet before bending create problems with them possibly stretching and breaking off???? I know nothing about jewellery fabrication and a bit curious about why it's done that way.

Cheers
Andrew

eastslope

~ Elite 1000 Member ~