Help, please: Engraving a bombay ring

gantzi

Hi,

My name is Guy and just recently I started engraving more seriously.
I'm a jeweler from Israel and I also started engraving with push gravers and optivisor.
First, I want to thank you guys for this amazing forum and community, this is an invaluable source of knowledge.
I also need your advice about engraving a 14K bombay ring (rounded ring) like the one in this link:
http://origin.kaboodle.com/hi/img/b/0/0/135/9/AAAAC5XruyAAAAAAATWagA.jpg

I never engraved a ring like this and it feels like engraving a ball of glass! I have a lot of slips :(
Do you have any tips or advises about how to engrave it better and avoid the slips?

Thanks a lot,
Guy

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Hello Guy, and welcome to the Cafe!

Assuming the ring is a common karat gold and not something unusually hard, it should be engravable without too much trouble (depending on your experience). However, engraving a tight radius with push gravers is quite difficult. I can tell you that if I had to do it I'd be slipping all over the place, too. If I didn't have a pneumatic handpiece, I'd engrave it with hammer & chisel as that method provides greater control on curved surfaces than push gravers. Aside from that, modifying your design so it more radius-friendly, like short cuts going in directions that minimize slips might help. But with a little practice you can most definitely engrave rings with hammer & chisel...I know because I've done them. Just remember that a tighter a tighter radius demands greater tool control whether it's hand push, hammer & chisel, or handpiece.

mitch

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Hi Guy-