Help, please: floki66

floki66

I am very frustrated. I am a newbie and cannot get one person to be a salesman/women. If I go to a Chevy car lot and then a Ford car lot the salesman will tell me why their system is better, usually without being defensive or nasty towards the other brand. I am just trying to find out the difference...since I am a newbie...between GRS handpieces/systems and Steve Lindsay's handpieces/systems. Neither will "sell" me on their product. I have the funds to purchase a complete GRS system or a Steve Lindsay system but I need "unbiased" opinion. I know Steve Lindsay has a easy to use sharpening system and his handpieces do not use springs. I do not want to use foot pedals...only palm control. I love bulino art and wish to carve guns, fobs, cowboy, etc.
Can or will anyone help me?
Thanks,
floki66

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
GRS system: Has a mushroom knob, barrel, piston, spring, and runs on air. Also has a control unit on the bench which contains a rotary valve that delivers air pulses to the handpiece. The control unit also has adjustable stroke speed from 400-8000 SPM. With the GraverMach AT, it also features built in Airtact (palm actuation) or foot pedal operation with the flip of a switch. It's not portable.

Lindsay system: Has a mushroom knob, barrel, piston, is springless, and runs on air. No control unit as its functions are adjusted at the handpiece itself. Others will have to explain exactly how that's done (as well as other features) as I don't have one. It is portable.

One difference you will notice is that with the GRS system the strokes per minute (SPM) do not change as you step on the gas, but change on the control unit itself. Power to the handpiece changes but the SPM is constant. With the Lindsay system the SPM increase as you step on the gas. There are plenty of engravers who prefer one over the other for various reasons.