Help, please: Help I don't know what i"m doing

isculpt

Hi.
This is all new to me. I am a self taught scrimshander and i've been doing it for a number of years (Scratch and ink). I came across your web site a few months ago and had just recently joined. I was impressed by the quality of your work and was interested in trying some scrimshaw and bulino. So I jumped the gun and bought a couple of GRS Handpieces: an 801 and a 537 without even knowing if they would work or not.

I tried to hook them up to a regular compressor, and have been unsuccessful in getting them to work. There wasn't any manual with them. Can any one tell me if they will work with a regular compressor and if so, what am I doing wrong.
:confused:

Andrew Biggs

Oh dear!!

Going by what you are saying.............you have the hand peices only???? If that is the case then they cannot operate directly ouff the compressor.

The compressor feeds into a GraverMach/Max etc. This then feeds the air to the hand peices regulating as it goes.

So that means you have to buy some more gear by the sounds of it. It may pay for you to tell us exactly what you have got................and maybe post photos so people can help you out.

Cheers

Andrew

isculpt

Andrew, Thank you for your quick response.

Yes, I have the hand pieces only, that I bought used on the cafe. I guess I assumed that they would run on a regular compressor since I really didn't understand how how they operate. I really can't afford $1,000 for GraverMach/Max etc. I there a less costly solution? Thanks again for your help.

Billzach

Elite Cafe Member
I,m not sure if the handpieces you bought will work on a grs gravermate, but if so you might find a used one worth the money..I used a gravermate for about 2 years and it served me well.

Andrew Biggs