Introduction

Metalshaper

Greetings,

Newbie here, and by the looks of some/all of your work,, I am WAY in over my head!:eek:

I'm called Metalshaper. Mainly because I am interested in and build Muzzle loading rifles, almost entirely from scratch. I usually buy barrels, but have worked on a few gundrilling experiments, to make a couple of barrels. and have helped build/use a couple of different rifling rigs. Pretty much self taught at everything.. Have learned to Blackmsith, knifesmith, machining ( lathe and now mill ) and whatever else I need to do.

By now your asking what that has to do with engraving?? The ultimate goal, is to also be able to fancy up the rifles and such, by adding some engraving to my projects. I've been slowly working, at trying to learn to do some hand engraving. I've also mucked about with some chased work. I built my own engravers ball, using a cut down bowling ball and a small Drill press vise. Forged some chasing gravers, out in the backyard smithy.. and made a few smaller hand gravers, using some HSS pieces I purchased.

attempting to learn this, on my own, is a bit of a challenge. I know I need to work on wrapping my head around proper graver geometry.. and then to get a LOT more consistent with my sharpening. I am learning a new respect for patience though :) getting to know "when " its time to walk away!! I have a notebook and practice drawing my scrolls and leafs and trying to lay out borders and such.

Anyway,, figured I'd let you know what kind of character,, will be lurking around in the shadows!

Respect Always
Metalshaper

Dulltool

Elite Cafe Member
Welcome,
I can't imagine anything more rewarding that building a rifle from scratch then being able to engrave it yourself.... very cool and very satisfying.

They call me Dennis mainly because that's my name ;).... again WELCOME.

Tira

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Hello Metalshaper and welcome!