Life Changing Experiences

Denny

Elite Cafe Member
Hello, my name is Denny Lytle and I am from Utah. This is my first post and I wanted to share with you three life and work changing experiences from the last week.
1. I found an joined the engravers cafe. I have been building spurs and doing bright cut for the last 15 years and I have learned more and been more inspired in the last week than at any other time. This resource is as good as it gets and I am very grateful to all the fine people who so willingly share your knowledge and experience. I am a serious student again and it feels good. I had lost that for a while. Frankly, I have been at this computer as much as possible the last few days with this stupid look of amazement and my jaw hanging open. My wife thought I had one of those mini strokes.
2. I bought and set up my microscope. I know most of you are sitting out there and smiling. I had no idea. It has opened up a whole new world. My first practice plate was better than anything I have ever done.
3. I bought a 120 degree graver to try. I have been using mostly flats forever and never properly learned to use a 90. From the first cut with the 120 I knew I had found a new best friend.

Mostly I wanted to say hello and thank you.

Attachments

• DSCF0932-1.jpg
    DSCF0932-1.jpg
    118 KB · Views: 177

Denny

Elite Cafe Member
Thanks Brian. The overlay on the band is copper with the nickel steerheads overlaid on top of the copper. The body of the spur is just cold rolled.

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Hello Denny, and welcome aboard! Make yourself at home and ask all the questions you like, and you'll have dozens of fine engravers ready to help. Your work looks great, and please feel free to upload your images to our Photo Gallery as well.

Cheers / ~Sam

Andrew Biggs

Welcome aboard Denny

Very nice spurs...........It's good to be re-inspired. Sometimes we can get a bit jaded with the daily grind.

Hope to se more of your work