Microscope Advise

Dragonslayer

I am looking at the Omano OM3300/V10 microscope with the 0.3x and 0.5X Barlow lenses. I am new to engraving and getting old and the eyes are not what they use to be. I do work on Jewelry, Rings and Pendants. I would like to know if you think this is a good microscope for the price.

I appreciate all the help I can get. Thanks ahead of time to all of you.
Bruce

rhenrichs

Elite Cafe Member
I had a Omano 7x45 scope 10x eye peices and a .4 and .5 barlow lenses. The optics would stay in focus thru the zoom range. The reason I got rid of it, it did not have good light gathering quality and was dark and took a lot of light to see what to see what I was doing. I bit the bullet and got a Meiji EMZ5. You might want to re-think a .3 barlow, a .4 barlow lense has 9 1/4" clearance.

Roger

Doc Mark

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Bruce,

Microscopes, like many engraving accessories, seem to polarize those who use them. As in most fine optical instruments, "you get what you pay for." The finer Zeiss, and high-end Japanese scopes are the best in optical quality but significantly higher in price. I have used the Omano OM XTL/V7B with a 0.5 Barlow for about 18 months now and I find it a very good scope. It stays in focus throughout the zoom range and is bright enough with a good ring light and a supplemental "goose-neck" halogen off to one side. I am unfamiliar with the OM 3300/V10 scope. It seems to have a less substantial body but photos are hard to compare. I like the larger articulated boom stand that is sold with the OM XTL. Are you buying from The Microscope Store? If so, talk to them about the different models. I found them very helpful and good people with which to do business

Mark

carl bleile

Elite Cafe Member
Bruce,