Neil Hartliep engraved Winchester 21

Clayton

I have a Winchester model 21 that was upgraded to a grade 6 w/gold pattern by Neil Hartliep. I did a google search on his name which lead me to this site. Can anyone tell me about the engraver? Thanx - Clayton.

Roger Bleile

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
The late Neil Hartliep was born in Iowa and raised on a farm. He was a self taught engraver who began his engraving experience in 1948 and simultaneously owned and operated a sporting goods store in Cherokee, Iowa. In 1953 he sold his retail business and began work as the manager of the chamber of commerce which gave him more time to engrave.

In 1964, Neil became a full time engraver, By 1979 he had become a guest instructor of gun engraving at Trinadad State College. He also wrote a book of instruction for beginning engravers which is still in print. I first met Neil in the late 70's while he was working at the Grand American trapshoot in Vandalia, Ohio and I would subsequently visit with him annually at the grand for years afterward.

I, unfortunatly do not have his date of birth or death though I am aware that he passed away quite a while ago. You can probably find this information through the Firearms Engravers Guild of America or perhaps the guild president, Rex Pederson will see this thread and provide that information.

A more complete biography with photos of Neil and his works can be found in my book "American Engravers." The book is long out of print but is occasionally found on eBay and is in many libraries.

Neil was a fine gentleman and was well liked by others in the trade. He was always helpful to beginning engravers and mentored many including his son Glen who also became an accomplished engraver.

CRB

Glenn

Elite Cafe Member
Thank you Roger for being a member of this forum. I really enjoy your input. And yes I did find a copy of your book on ebay.
Thanks Again

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::