New Drawing

tldcowboygear

Howdy Folks,

This is my first attempt at this style of drawing. I have been trying to draw bright cut style of engraving. I thought that I would give this a whirl. I get to go home next weekend so I will get to try to cut some of the things that I have drawn.

I think that this looks really rough, but you should have seen the crumpled stack in the corner of the ones that I threw away. It is getting a little easier and I think I am improving a very little. The one thing you folks never promised was that it would be easy.

Let me know what you think of this please. I value each one of your critiques.

Thanks,

D.C.

Attachments

• knife1.jpg
    knife1.jpg
    43 KB · Views: 203
  • knife2.jpg
    knife2.jpg
    70.5 KB · Views: 306

Tim Wells

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I like your quote!

When I win the lottery I'm quittin' my day job and I ain't goin' anywhere unless it's by flying a tail dragger or lookin' through a pair of horses ears. You can quote me on that.

As for the drawing: "The devil's in the details" as they say. Pay close attention to negative space/positive space proportions; they should be in balance. Also leaf and tendril size compared to overall scroll size, the backbone size and the space you have to work in. I assume you know but if not; what I mean by negative space is that area where there is nothing, like background. Positive space is that area that the scroll makes.

I know this was a quick sketch so you already know about keeping the border running perfectly parallel with the outline of the knife. You already addressed the scroll roundness. Now go back and fix that area you pointed out yourself and keep tweaking it till you have it laid out like you want it.