New Member Dave Kaczynshi, Hi

jimzim75

Elite Cafe Member
This is Daves first post and I thought it would be better in the main forum.
Jim

Good evening
My name is Dave Kaczynski I am A jewelry Designer from Montpelier,Vermont my shop is called "Khaos Designs" . I am Brand New to engraving. I am Almost done reading James Meek's book on the subject.

I would like to explore push tool and/or "Hammer and chisel" engraving before I proceed to air powered equipment! Besides I can,t really afford to bite off that investment just yet!!

I Looking for some advice with respect to Hand Engraving Tools or should I say Engraving Tools Using the Push or Hamer and chisel Technique. Any suggestions Where I might get some of the "Long Chisels" I've seen pictures of, and heard described by some other hammer and chisel engravers?

I would greatly appreciated any suggestions for a newcomer.
Any other sources of Info, Books, Websites,and feedback would be helpful

Thanks again
Dave Kaczynski/Khaos Designs

Hi Dave and welcome to the forum, we will help you with what ever you need. -Jim

Last edited:

threefingerdave

Elite Cafe Member
Dave,
Welcome aboard
A few years ago i bought some long ( about 6") metal handles from Brownells (www.brownells.com)
that you can put your gravers in so they are longer and you can use them with a hammer...I dont know if they still sell them or what they were called but you can check out there web site
hope this gives you a lead
Dave

pappy

Elite Cafe Member
Long Chisels

Welcome, Dave!!
I think the chisels are called die sinker