Okay, have at it!

FL-Flinter

Elite Cafe Member
Okay, y'all have at it, should be good for a laugh, it's okay, I got big shoulders. LOL

Little background - This is my first attempt at doing a serious engraving of anything other than text. Also, I managed to bugger up the one good piece of tool steel I had so I hastily made a graver from hard cut nail and went at it anyway. Take into consideration this is going on a distressed (aged) reproduction flintlock rifle of the mid to late 1700's time frame that would have been considered a utilitarian rifle for a settler (hunting gun, not a fancy wall-hanger). All thoughts, suggestions & comments welcome (yes, even the laughs!) - Mark

FL-Flinter

Elite Cafe Member
Personally, I'm not thrilled with it. Only plus I have is that by distressing the rest of the rifle, it covers the boo boo's I made on the hog. The only graving I did previous to this was making ID tags for plastic injection molds. Those were done in oil impregnated bronze, simply removed the background so the text was recessed into the part when it was molded (they didn't have to be pretty, just legible) .

I think I'm making my gravers wrong. I know I had my angles wrong before but after just checking another forum, I think my heel is made wrong as well. I have been making my face narrow and tapered wide top to narrow bottom. I then cut my heel square to the face and now I think I understand it should be split to form a vee when viewed from the face. Nothing quite like jumping with both feet and not having a clue what you're doing. I have a habbit of doing things that way ... gotta start somewhere, never read the directions until you absolutely have to.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
cutting a pig that nice from a "nail" graver aint shabby at all. that's the engravers credo, afterall--"make it happen, no matter how !"

Andrew Biggs